Signal Boost: Prospero’s Children trilogy is FINALLY live!

Some of you may have read my original Writer’s Odyssey post, about the long, tangled process of publishing my first series. The series came out from Tor, the first book appearing in 2009.

Alas, the saga does not end there. The original series, then called Prospero’s Daughter, was released with covers that were pretty, but which had very little to do with the book and, worse, gave a wrong impression of what the books are like. My favorite quote on this subject comes from successful indie author Jonathan Moeller, who perfectly encapsulated the impression given by the original covers when he wrote in a review of this series:

I have to admit, the books are not all what I expected. For some reason, I had it in my head that they would be sort of ethereal and bloodless – a woman wasting away in a loveless arranged marriage while pining for the Elf King, that sort of thing. I am pleased to report that I was quite completely wrong. Instead, PROSPERO’S DAUGHTER is a combination between a detective novel and Warhammer 40k.

Perhaps due to this wrong packaging, the books did not sell well. (My editor felt it was the covers that harmed the series. He may have been right, because, years later, I still had people walking up to me and saying how much they enjoyed the first book and would the second book ever come out?–which means they did not see it when it came out with its original cover, which was neither accurate nor interesting to the eye.) Finally, I was able to regain the rights and try again.

This time, the books are coming out from the dynamic and up-and-coming Wordfire Press. The covers are by the same cover artist who does my Books of Unexpected Enlightenment series, Dan Lawlis. Before becoming a commercial artist, Dan used to draw for DC and Marvel.

Originally, I wanted to call the trilogy Prospero’s Children–to emphasize that, while the book is from Miranda’s point of view, the story is about the whole family and, in particular, the relationship between the siblings–Prospero’s children. Tor changed the series title to Prospero’s Daughter so as to include it in a line they called Women in Fantasy. (I was told that they would make an exception and put the series in this line, even though there were no sex scenes.) When Wordfire picked up the trilogy, they graciously agreed to restore the original series title.

So, it is with great delight, that I announce that the Prospero’s Children trilogy is available again…and with covers that reflect the characters and stories!

Shakespeare meets Dante as Miranda races to gather her siblings and rescue her father…from Hell.


Prospero, the exiled sorcerer made famous in William Shakespeare’s play, The Tempest, has endured throughout many centuries. His daughter Miranda runs the family business—Prospero, Inc.—so smoothly that most of modern humanity has no idea that the Prosperos’ magic has protected Earth from repeated disasters. But old Prospero himself has been kidnapped by demons from Hell, and Miranda, aided by her estranged siblings, has followed her father into the depths of the underworld to save him from a certain doom at the hands of vengeful demons.

Time is running out for Miranda, and for the great magician himself, as they battle against the most terrifying forces of the Pit.

“No ordinary urban fantasy, but a treasure trove of nifty ideas and intriguing revelations.”—Publisher’s Weekly on Prospero Lost

See series on Amazon

And, right now, you can get the third book, Prospero Regained, along with several other books in this latest Book Bundle.

  • “a woman wasting away in a loveless arranged marriage while pining for the Elf King”

    hmm. . . on first reading, I thought she was married to the Elf King, lovelessly, arranged.

    • Mrs. Wright

      Either…and neither would fit the story. lol

      Though she does dance with the Elf King once, I think….and Santa’s on Christmas night.

  • Terry Sanders

    Good news!

    I was lucky enough to have them recommented. I’m not sure if I’d have bothered given the covers I saw, either.

  • Overgrown Hobbit

    The original covers were truly beautiful pictures, but they sent the wrong message about what to expect from the book BIG TIME. Terrible design choice.

    Here’s my original review:
    The series is really good. When the yard ape gets just a little bit older I’m going to give them to her. But I’ll probably make a color copy of the new covers and slide them in under the plastic Demco wrappers.

    • Mrs. Wright

      That’s a great idea.

      Or I could her a set of the new ones, if you liked.

      • Overgrown Hobbit

        I might take you up on that.

  • Stephen J.

    I loved the original covers and bought all three books in hardback (this was before I started boycotting Tor), but then I haven’t taken covers as a serious guide to what to expect from a book’s contents since I was about eight. To me a cover has done its job if it gets the shopper to pick the book up and glance at the blurb or the first few pages, however it does that, and one of the big advantages of the original covers was that they were very different from almost everything on the shelves around them.

    And to be honest, I still think Prospero’s Daughter is a better title — yes, the series is about the whole family, but it is Miranda who is our viewpoint character and Miranda who goes through the most development and change, as well as being the most literarily well-known. (Besides, there’s already a book called Prospero’s Children, by Jan Siegel, so the former title had the virtue of minimizing confusion.)

    • Mrs. Wright

      There is a book called Prospero’s Children by Siegel, I own it. But…I was calling mine that for many years before hers came out. 😉

      Glad you got the originals, if you like them. Not everyone was fooled by them. Some people do really love them. But…there were some who picked them up expected the book the cover looked like and didn’t like what they found.

      Oddly, when I first came up with the current cover…Mab and Miranda in Chicago…there wasn’t an Urban Fantasy genre yet. It would have looked more distinctive back then.

      • Stephen J.

        I did, I enjoyed them all immensely, both original covers and the books; though I do have to admit I had kind of hoped your Miranda would end up with the real human Ferdinand she’d once loved, somehow. Which is not to say I wasn’t glad about how it worked out with (spoilers avoided).

        But Theophrastus may be my single favourite “holy warrior” character since Michael Carpenter of The Dresden Files. If you ever go back to that universe, I would love to see Theophrastus and Mephisto get dragooned into working with some sour-faced secular sorcerer from the Orbis Suleimani, maybe on stopping some “Stranger Things”-type hypertech experiment threatening the dimensions….

        • Mrs. Wright

          That is an interesting point. I’ve written some short stories in the background, but none have starred Theo. I’ll think about that.